Awards and Recognition

2021 Resident, Fellow, and Nurse Recognition Awards, Hosted by the Gold Humanism Honor Society, CMSRU Chapter

"Humanistic medical care is not simply compassion. It is the best of medicine. When skilled clinicians build caring, trusting and collaborative relationships with patients, studies reveal more appropriate medical decisions, better patient adherence with treatment plans, and less costly health care outcomes."

Gold Humanism Award to Gerardo Lopez, MD

Gold Humanism Award to Janeni Nayagan,MD

Cooper University Health Care's Psychiatry Residency Program: Winner of the 2020 Victor J. Teichner, MD, Psychoanalytic Award

Teichner Award - Plaque Description

We are pleased to announce that Cooper University Health Care’s Psychiatry Residency Program has been awarded a prestigious fellowship named after Dr. Victor J. Teichner, former president of the American Academy of Psychodynamic Psychiatry and Psychoanalysis (AAPDPP).  While he died at the age of 56, he was recognized through one of his patients’ donation to continue his teaching theories of the psychodynamic therapy and maintaining his legacy.

Dr. Sedky poses with awardThe award has been developed to promote the teaching of the psychodynamic principles to psychiatrists-in-training and is awarded to only one psychiatry residency program each year. Through this grant, we will enhance the psychodynamic/psychoanalytic training for our trainees. A visiting scholar will be chosen by us to help develop this program at the school for trainees during a 3 day visit.

Our psychiatry residency program, including our new chair Dr. Anthony Rostain, and Dr. Karim Sedky, the program director, and our department’s faculty, will be recognized during the national American Academy of Psychodynamic Psychiatry and Psychoanalysis (AAPDP) which is being held in Philadelphia this coming April. Our program will also be recognized at the annual meeting of the American Association of Directors of Psychiatric Residency Training (ADDPRT) in March.